Four ordinations in Meath and Kildare

Share this story

St Brigid’s Cathedral in Kildare saw the ordination of four new deacons for Ordained Local Ministry, on Sunday 20 September.

Each of the newly ordained deacons will initially serve in their home parishes. Those ordained were:

  • Alan Robinson – to serve in Portarlington Union of parishes. Alan has been a Diocesan Reader for a number of years, a member of Diocesan Council as well as the Finance and Glebes Committee..
  • Alan Melbourne – to serve in Edenderry Union of parishes. Alan has been a Diocesan Reader for several years.  
  • James Reid – to serve in Clane Union of parishes. James has been a Diocesan Reader for a number of years.
  • Yvonne Hutchinson – to serve in Tullamore Union of parishes. Yvonne is a Diocesan Reader, as well as being a member of Diocesan Council.

The four deacons were ordained by Bishop Pat Storey. She said, “We are delighted to be able to ordain four new deacons this year. Each have them have shown a great commitment and desire to serve in the dioceses. We thank them for their willingness to embark on this journey, and for the support of their families. As a diocesan family we offer our prayers and appreciation for them on this special occasion.”

Taking part in the service were: Dean Tim Wright (Dean of St Brigid’s Cathedral), Archdeacon Leslie Stevenson and Ms Karen Seaman (Diocesan Registrar). The preacher was Rev Alison Irvine The service was conducted in compliance with government Covid-19 regulations. Whilst no singing was possible music was provide by organist …

Each of the new deacons have our prayers and warmest good wishes as they begin a new phase in their ministries.

To find out more about Ordained Local Ministry click here.