Four Ordinations to priesthood

Share this story

On Sunday 19 September Bishop Pat Storey ordained 4 deacons to the order of priest. The service took place at 4pm on Sunday 19 September, in St Patrick’s Cathedral Trim.

Each of the newly ordained priests will continue to serve in their home parishes. Those ordained were:

  • Alan Robinson – to serve in Portarlington Union of parishes.
Rev Alan Robinson
  • Alan Melbourne – to serve in Edenderry Union of parishes.
Rev Alan Melbourne
  • James Reid – to serve in Clane Union of parishes.
Rev James Reid
  • Yvonne Hutchinson – to serve in Tullamore Union of parishes.

Also taking part in the service were Dean Paul Bogle (Dean of St Patrick’s Cathedral, Trim) and Archdeacon Leslie Stevenson. The preacher was Archdeacon Leslie Stevenson. Music was provided by the Cathedral organist and Director of Music, Ms Doreen Kimberley.

All four were ordained last year by Bishop Pat Storey. They were prepared by Canon Alastair Graham.

Numbers attending the service were restricted and it was conducted in accordance with government guidelines concerning Covid–19.

In keeping with Covid guidelines there was no congregational singing. However, hymns were sung by a soloist, Harriet Wilkinson.